Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About us



Recruitment Info

Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page


●      The closing ceremony organized at Khurda Road, Cuttack and Sakhigopal Railway Stations over Khurda Road Division ad at Sambalpur & Visakhapatnam.


●      Freedom fighters/their Family members and descendants of Paiko Rebellion Martyrs were felicitated o­n the occasion.



The celebration of Iconic Week of “Azadi Ki Rail Gadi Aur Station” by East Coast Railway started from July 18th has been concluded today, i.e. o­n 23rd July 2022. The Iconic Week of Azadi Ki Rail Gadi Aur Station is a part of the  “Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav’” being celebrated by Government of India, to mark 75 years of Indian independence.


75 Railway Stations over Indian Railways were identified for the celebration of Azadi ki Rail Gadi aur Station.  3 Railway Stations of Khurda Road Division i.e., Khurda Road, Cuttack & Sakhigopal; Sambalpur and Visakhapatnam were identified for the purpose.


During the week long celebrations, various programmes like Nukkad natak, Patriotic song, Patriotic dance, instant quiz, selfie points, illumination of Rly stns, audio/video display of brief history of freedom fighters, 3D cutouts of freedom fighters, light and sound programmes were organized at all the three Railway stations, to aware the general public regarding the great sacrifice given by our freedom fighters.


As a part of the conclusion of iconic week celebrations, closing ceremony organized at Khurda Road Railway Station where ECoR Principal Chief Electrical Engineer Shri Basudev Panda, and Divisional Railway Manager, Khurda Road Shri Rinkesh Roy the felicitated Four Freedom fighters/their family members and nine members of descendants of Paiko Rebellion Martyrs.


Speaking o­n the occasion, Shri Basudev Panda, said that all the departments of East Coast Railway actively participated in the week long celebration of Azadi Ki Rail Gadi Aur Station. Felicitation to the freedom fighters and their family members were done with an aim to respect the great sacrifice given by them and also aware public to progress further the unity and nationality of country. The Khurda Road Railway station has a unique identification for the two hundred years old Paika Rebellion, which is the pride of Odisha.


Gracing the occasion at Cuttack Railway Station, Additional Divisional Railway Manager of Khurda Road Shri Kalyan Patnaik felicitated three freedom fighters & Spouse of o­ne Freedom Fighter. Similarly, Additional Divisional Railway Manager Shri Ashok Kumar felicitated family members of two freedom fighters. Apart from this, freedom fighters and their family members were also felicitated by Divisional Railway Managers of Waltair and Sambalpur Railway Division.   


After the completion of the programmes, all the five Railway stations were connected with the central function held at New Delhi through video conferencing. The central function at the New Delhi was lead by Shri Prahallad Joshi, the Minister of Parliamentary affairs, Coal and Mines of India. The Union Minister interacted with Shri Mayadhar Malik, the freedom fighter present at Khurda Road Railway Station, through video conferencing, regarding his experience during freedom, along with other freedom fighters present at various Railway stations over Indian Railways.      



  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.